Prof. Deotare Voted HKN Professor of the Year for ECE

Prof. Parag Deotare was named the 2016-2017 HKN Professor of the Year in ECE by the Beta-Epsilon chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the national honor society for electrical and computer engineers.

The award is given on the basis of popular votes by students in programs administered by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Prof. Deotare also won   AFOSR Young Investigator Award in fall 2016.


More on:

Prof. Deotare receives the Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR)

Prof. Parag Deotare received a Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) to support basic scientific research in Nanoscale Exciton-Mechanical Systems (NEXMS). In this project, Prof. Deotare will investigate the interactions between exciton and mechanics, which will lead to a better understanding of exciton dynamics.

An exciton is an excited state of matter that is capable of transporting energy. Matter-mechanics interactions is an untrespassed area of research, yet holds the promise of significantly improving the performance of energy conversion excitonic devices, such as organic photovoltaics and light emitting diodes (LEDs).

This work will deepen our understanding of the underlying physics of exciton-mechanics interactions and help engineer novel devices for energy harvesting and up-conversion. The work will also help to layout a platform for next generation optoexcitonic circuits with applications in data communications as well as biochemical sensing.

Additional information

AFOSR Press Release(10/11/16)

The AFOSR Young Investigator Program was initiated in 2006. It is open to scientists and engineers who have received their PhD or equivalent within the past five years, and show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research. The objective of the program is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

This year, 58 scientists and engineers from 41 research institutions will receive $20.8M in grants.

Additional Link: